Student Life

Education is not just about going to class. For Michigan-based small Catholic universities like Siena Heights, college is about encountering new ideas and experiences in lots of other ways through organizations and honor societies, plays and performance groups, intramural and varsity sports, service clubs and social groups. If you don’t find what you want, start something new. Involvement. That’s what Siena’s all about. Here are the offices of the Student Life Division:

SHU cafeteria

Residence Life

Director: Samantha Thacker; Phone: 517-264-7172; sthacker@sienaheights.edu; Hours: Monday-Friday, 8 a.m.-5 p.m.; Office: Ledwidge Hall

students at game

Student Engagement

Director: Elizabeth Artz; Phone: 517-264-7607; earts@sienaheights.edu; Hours: Monday-Friday 8 a.m.-5 p.m.; Office: McLaughlin University Center, second floor

Shades of SHU

Diversity & Inclusion

Director: Christopher Carter; Phone: 517-264-7606; ccarter9@sienaheights.edu; Office: McLaughlin University Center, second floor

student life

Vice President for Student Affairs

Michael Orlando; Phone: 517-264-7601; morlando@sienaheights.edu; Office: Ledwidge Hall

mass

Campus Ministry

Director: Sister Mary Jones, OP; Phone: 517-264-7105; mjones3@sienaheights.edu; Office: McLaughlin University Center, second floor

zen garden

Counseling Center

Director: Sandy Morley; Phone: 517-264-7193 smorley@sienaheights.edu; Hours: Monday-Friday, 8 a.m.-5 p.m. or by appointment; Office: Ledwidge Hall, room 197

Portrait of an African American nurse wearing a protective face mask to avoid the transfer of germs during the COVID-19 outbreak.

Health Services

Director/Campus Nurse: Dawn Marsh; Phone: 517-264-7190; dmarsh@sienaheights.edu; Hours: 9:30 a.m.-noon and 1-4 p.m. Monday-Friday; Health Center: Ledwidge Hall, room 180

football players on bleachers

Athletics

Director: Sue Syljebeck; Phone: 517-264-7871; ssyljebe@sienaheights.edu; Office: Fieldhouse

students walking on sidewalk

ACCESSIBILITY

Director: Cody Mathis; Phone: 517-264-7683; cmathis1@sienaheights.edu; Office: McLaughlin University Center, room 211

Siena Heights University is dedicated to academic excellence and personal development. We encourage and promote the uniqueness of each person. However, we also recognize the interdependence of all members of the Siena Heights community.

For the University to accomplish its goals, it is most important that we maintain an environment in which all members of the community, at this Michigan small college, have the opportunity to develop spiritually, intellectually, socially, emotionally, and physically. To meet this obligation, the University seeks to provide an environment conducive to academic endeavors, social growth, and individual self-discipline for each student. To ensure that this environment is maintained, a conduct system has been established. This system is viewed by the University as the part of the educational experience, which occurs when a student’s conduct interferes with the University’s responsibility for insuring that all members of the University can attain their personal and professional goals.

The primary goal of the conduct system is to determine responsibility, and if applicable, facilitate change. Growth occurs when the individual who made a mistake realizes this mistake and accepts responsibility for his/her actions. Members of the University must be concerned with protecting their own dignity and respecting that of all individuals within our community.

All persons taking courses at Siena Heights University, both full time and part time, pursuing undergraduate, graduate, distance learning or non-degree programs on any campus are held accountable by the Code of Student Conduct