Kara Bishop of Allegan, Mich. and Grant Vermilya of Findlay, Ohio each earned the 2022 Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award from Siena Heights University. The award is SHU’s highest honor given to undergraduate students in the College of Arts and Sciences who represent the University’s best in curricular and co-curricular accomplishment throughout their college career.  

Bishop graduated in May 2022 and double majored in Elementary Education and Special Education Cognitive Impairment. During her time at Siena Heights, she was a member of the women’s soccer team as goalie, a member of the TEACH organization and SALT (Student Athlete Leadership Team) president. Bishop has received distinguished honor awards every year in Education and received the Outstanding Undergraduate Division of Education Award and the Distinguished Student Teacher Award this year. Bishop also has been on the Dean’s list every semester. 

Vermilya graduated in May 2022 with a bachelor’s degree in Social Work. While at SHU, Vermilya was a Resident Assistant, involved in campus ministry, was a student assistant coach and the SHU American Blood Rep. He volunteered with the Appalachia Service Project: Rebuilding Rainelle, Salvation Army Soup Kitchen, and Share the Warmth. He was a member of the National Honor Society and the Siena Heights Honors Program. Vermilya received the Junior English Program Award, Outstanding Student in the Division of Social Sciences Award, Outstanding Student in Social Work Award, and the Ann Lauderdale Award for Commitment to the Social Work Profession. Finally, he served as a 2022 commencement student speaker for the College of Arts and Sciences. Vermilya has accepted a position with the Appalachia Service Project as Center Director.

Other 2022 Student Leadership Award recipients include:

  • Sister Carmelia O’Connor Outstanding Community Service Program Award: “Arts Influencing Change” by Adam Baker and Anjewel Lenoi
  • Outstanding Educational Program: “Mistakes” by Griffin Yeater 
  • Outstanding Social Program: Student Support Services Peer Mentors: Brain Break by Hannah Pennington, Jay Lugo, Maddie Parmelee, Jazmyn Buschman, Ashleigh Courington, Sierra Tennyson
  • Most Valuable Officer: Julianne Lark, Student Government 
  • Advisor of the Year: Michael Orlando, Student Government 
  • Student Organization of the Year: Unofficial Spanish Club 
  • Mitchell Prater Halo Award: Mercedes Starr
  • Saints Pride: Brenna Nurenberg
  • Emerging Leaders: Rachelle Lowery and Grace Balog 
  • Trudy McSorley Servant Leader Award: Elizabeth Heintz 
  • Legacy Award: Alexia Ferguson and Kristin Delclos 

During the April 29 Honors Convocation, the following awards were given:

  • Sister Eileen Rice Award for Outstanding Teaching: Nicholas Kaplan
  • Thomas Emmet Award (top junior student-athletes): Payton Banks (Women’s Basketball); Davis Longyear (Men’s Golf)
  • Team Academic Award: Women’s Soccer and Women’s Cross Country
  • Business and Management Division Outstanding Student: Charles Kraus
  • Computer, Mathematics and the Sciences Division Outstanding Students: Dominic Fryman and John Applebee
  • Teacher Education Division Outstanding Students: Kara Bishop and Marysa Prettyman
  • Humanities Division Outstanding Students: Grace Balog, Alexia Ferguson and Alexander Robertson
  • Nursing Division Outstanding Students: Claire Beaudoin
  • Social Sciences Division Outstanding Students: Samantha Hill and Grant Vermilya
  • Visual and Performing Arts Division Outstanding Student: Lizette Nava
  • St. Catherine of Alexandria Award (for junior leadership and service): Elizabeth Heintz
  • Sister Jean Cecile Hunt Outstanding Advising Award: Gina Gudowski
  • Staff Excellence Awards: Robin Rumler and Dan Yatzek
  • Jack Bologna Innovative Teaching Award: David Lucas
  • Staff Emerita: Mary Kruse
  • Professors Emeritus/a: Dr. Carol Heimelhoch, Dr Stephen Ball and Dr. Carl Kaster
  • Faculty Emerita: Sister Sharon R. Weber, O.P, Ph.D.